The Thirumayam fort, set in 40 acres is of great historical importance. It was constructed by Vijaya Raghunatha Sethupathi, the Raja of Ramnad in 1687. Later the fort was handed over to his brother in law Raghunatha Raya Tondaiman. The fort has been extensively renovated by Archaeological Survey of India in 2012. A rock cut siva temple and a vishu temples with different statues, Darbar Hall, some inscriptions and pillared corridor were situated at the foot of the hillock adjacent of the Fort. It is under the control of the Archaeological survey of India .